All About Japan

State of Emergency Lifted in 6 Prefectures

Health Stay Home

The Japanese government announced on February 26 that it will lift the state of emergency in six prefectures at the end of the month.

The coronavirus emergency was lifted in Osaka, Kyoto, Aichi, Gifu, Hyogo and Fukuoka on February 28, a week earlier than the scheduled March 7 date as new COVID infections decrease and strain on hospitals eases in the areas. Eateries will continue to be asked to close by 9 p.m., or by 10 p.m. to contain the coronavirus outbreak.

The emergency declaration will remain in effect in Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama and Chiba.